I Dislike New Years Resolutions

Why not start the new year off with something I’ve always wanted to do: to share my thoughts. To share what God has been teaching me, telling me, and hopefully…being able to relate those things with others. So to start….:

A new year.

The ability to feel the blank page of a new year, just waiting to be written of the new adventures to come. New starts. Change. Freedom from the past year burdens.

A few years ago, I became bitter of the idea of “New Year’s Resolutions.” I came across Lamentations saying:

“ the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;

His mercies never come to an end;

They are new every morning;

Great is your faithfulness.”

Believing in the power of the Word, I firmly believe that any burden from a day (or a burden that has built up from weeks or months or years) can be left at the feet of our Savior and we can have freedom when we give complete control to Him of whatever is holding us back. A new day can wipe that away. A new hour can wipe that away (thank you Jesus!). A new day can also be the start of something. To be more bold. To stop fearing. To start loving your flaws. To start following a dream you’ve held back from.

So if we believe that…why should we wait for the excuse of a new year to start something? So when I was processing all of these thoughts, that’s when I started to dislike the idea of a New Year’s Resolution.

But at the same time, I realized this year, I’m amazed people make resolutions at all to better themselves. They may seem silly (to me atleast), but it’s a step that may be scary, and we just needed time and an excuse to start something that challenges us. So for those taking that step, when January 1st hits, fight like heck for that resolution.

So yes, I am making a resolution this year. I’ve always battled with body image and self-esteem, and it’s tiring! I remember 2 years ago I was struggling even more than usual with how I viewed myself and I couldn’t love myself, that it was affecting how I spent my time. I couldn’t bear hanging out with my friends because I felt so insecure. I couldn’t love them or my family to the best of my ability because I was so focused on myself. So I prayed. I prayed that God would reveal to me how He sees me. I prayed that I could love myself. After time, I got a glimpse of a phrase:

Thankfulness.

Being thankful for the things I was insecure about.

Thank you Lord for my legs. Although they may not be stick-model thin, they allow me to run, and have allowed me to run a half-marathon. They allow me to cycle. They allow me to dance like a crazy fool with my wonderful friends.

Thank you Lord for my nose. It gets to smell the glorious creation that is coffee, the way the pavement smells after rainfall, and bouquet of flowers (just to name a few).

It’s really hard to be vulnerable. But that was something I had to pray every day, and those were praises I had to praise God for. Because everything about us is beautiful. That’s the way God created us.

If this is something you relate with, pray. Maybe it’s a situation. Pray. Even when it feels like it’s out of your control. There could be beauty to see around you, or it might take some time to see the beauty. Just pray. Give thanks.

Don’t let your focus be on your flaws because that takes away from the fullness we are to be.

Don’t let your focus be on the burdens that are holding you down, because that takes away from the fullness we are to be.

“give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18

#isntshelovely

Leave a Reply

