The Dreaded Turkey Melt: Trusting Recommendations

By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in a promised land like a stranger in a foreign country; he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.

– Hebrews 11:8-10

Reminisce with me…to the times when someone recommends something for you to go try. It either ends up very poorly, or really awesome where it changes you (maybe not dramatically).

A memory that pops into my head is the time my wonderful parents and I were visiting my lovely sisters out in Seattle. We were going off onto an adventure on Bainbridge Island that day and later ended up at this sandwich place that someone recommended (I can’t remember who). I was to the point of being hangry and was super pumped for food. My sisters and I split two different kinds of sandwiches, one very delicious one, and then…..the dreaded turkey melt. Sounds good right? No. The first bite was like “was that as bad as I thought it was?” Second bite (trying not to be rude by gagging)…I wanted to gag. I watched my sister’s faces as they tried the sandwich too. It was comical. My mom had the same sandwich, but she must have liked it because she kept eating it. Later found out she thought it was disgusting as well (way to keep it cool mom). Who would have thought that something that sounded so good would make me shudder to this day thinking about how nasty that turkey melt was. I’m almost gagging as I write this. I’m not sure if we came to the conclusion why it was so gross, but there was something in there that my family definitely doesn’t eat.

Usually, when a close friend suggests something for you, you trust them that it’s going to be good. They know you well enough that you believe that it will be awesome. 9 times out of 10 (making up stats here), it’s usually really great. But we are human, we mess up sometimes. We either end up getting a turkey melt, or suggest a turkey melt for a friend. But just think about your WILLINGNESS when you closest friend recommends something for you. You trust, and you obey.

Now think of when God is promising you something, or sending you somewhere, or has a plan for you that you think He’s telling you to do. Is it the same willingness as when your friend recommends you to do something?

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father…

– James 1:17

God has nothing but good gifts. Not only good gifts, PERFECT gifts. PERFECT plans.  So why do we hesitate?

Think of the passage in Hebrews 11:8-10. Abraham had no idea where he was going. But he OBEYED and WENT.  And guess what. No turkey melt. Nothing but a perfect ending, because God promised it and He is faithful.

The journey wasn’t pretty. There were times of doubt. But by faith, and by willingness, Abraham trusted God with His recommendation of going to an unknown place…later to find out it was the beginning of a beautiful inheritance.

If we firmly believe that God has nothing but perfect plans for us, we must work on our willingness to trust Him in His recommendations. There are numerous times I can attest to that; when I couldn’t see the future, and when I didn’t understand on why I made certain decisions, I trusted God that it was going to be amazing. And when that happened, it did turn out amazing.

We worry A LOT about the future and how things are going to turn out. BUT, when you can’t see the future, by faith, you trust God that it will all work out, it usually always does.

No turkey melts.

#isntshelovely

Leave a Reply

