fears we’ve been running from.

What do you fear?

I remember watching good old school Nickelodeon (still never know how to spell it, had to google it) when I was little and they had shows like Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark?. I would watch them casually and as you could probably predict, I would get the creepiest nightmares from them. To think I would learn! I don’t remember a lot of episodes to this day, but if there was one about a clown, I think that was when my fear of clowns started.

Some of us are fearless, some of us are so fearful, but yet we all have some sort of fear in us. It might not be the classic fear of heights or skydiving or whatever, but it might be fear of failure, fear of getting close to someone, fear of opening your heart.

I fear A LOT! God knows that. God knows we all fear and had to say “Do not be afraid” a ton of times in the Bible. Yet we still have that instilled in us…in our human nature.

When God is teaching me about my silly fears, it’s usually the same every dang time. “Kelley, why are you fearing? Here, trust me.” And I’m being all skeptical thinking: how in the world can you wipe away this situation/these feelings? In the moment, everything is so crazy and real RIGHT NOW, so I have a hard time seeing the outcome. But every single time He comes through.

Last week I was driving on the interstate. I get anxiety every now and then while I do. It comes in waves, but I usually make it the whole drive without having to stop. Anyways, I was just doing my thing while passing through a town while these dark clouds were to the right of me. Oh boy. Summer storms aren’t as bad as winter ones, but I still get so nervous! Especially when the radio screams at me saying “TAKE SHELTER.” Yikes.

I felt like God was trying to teach me about trusting Him more. I’m in a season right now where I’m leaning a LOT on Him for many reasons. But I felt like He wanted to show me this, and God knows I like when He speaks to me through nature. As the radio blared on, “Storm north 10 miles coming south east…..blah blah blah,” I’m slightly dying on the inside waiting for the next stop….. “coming on interstate between mile markers 289 and 324.” I KID YOU NOT, I was passing mile marker 324 at the EXACT MOMENT. My jaw dropped.

God said trust me, the storm isn’t going to hit you. I said, eh I don’t know if I trust you. So I rode the ledge of that storm, seeing the clouds forming (which was actually really awesome but terrifying at the same time) and booked it. Just a few more miles. I looked ahead. It’s like God parted the red sea, clear sky with clouds on the left, storm on the right. It was quite a sight. I felt really really silly afterwards when the sky was totally clear and I didn’t even get a drop of rain (or hail) on my car after I passed the town I knew I needed to pass in order to miss the storm.

I feel absolutely ridiculous when I fear. Because there is “No fear in love” (1 John 4:18). When we fear, it’s like we don’t trust God’s love, so we aren’t able to love God fully when we are fearing, or even love people or ourselves fully.

So what’s holding you back? Why do you fear? Do you listen for God’s voice throughout the fears? Can you even identify your fears? Sometimes they are so deep within us that we don’t even realize we’re fearing something in our life. I find myself in situations where I act a certain way, only to find out the root of the problem is fear.

There is no doubt it’s in our nature. Remember Paul in the Bible? He’s got a testimony like no other and has written most of the New Testament letters. Incredible man. Yet, even God told Paul in Acts 18:9, “Do not be afraid; keep on speaking, do not be silent.” Wow. Even the mighty Paul had to have God comfort him in his fears. So don’t feel guilty or shame that you have fear. Acknowledge it. Then lay it at the cross.

So I encourage you to pray. Pray to find out those deeper fears. It’s probably not going to feel good, but the outcome is always, always, ALWAYS incredible when you surrender them to God. For you can experience His goodness, His faithfulness, and most importantly, HIS LOVE because there is NO FEAR IN LOVE! We have nothing to fear.

You might be in the storms, you might be riding the ledge of one. You might be in situations that are so terrifying and you can’t see the outcome of it. Yet:

“He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart….If you make the Most High your dwelling- even the Lord, who is my refuge – then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent…’He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.'”

Psalm 91:4,9-10,15

God will not leave you hanging. He will not cut you off. His promises WILL NOT FALL SHORT. Call upon Him. He is with you. He will answer. He will be with you. He will deliver you.

There’s this funny fear I have. From the end of winter into spring, I fear that the trees won’t become green. That the grass stays brown. That the flowers won’t bloom. Absolutely ridiculous right? But lo and behold, God paints the trees green, as well as the grass, and He paints the mountainsides with an over-abundance of beautiful wildflowers. If God can do that…why wouldn’t He play a role in keeping His promises to you? (See Matthew 6:25-34).

To end, I pray God reveals His goodness to you so you can experience what I did (and I have a resume of more situations too), and I pray that you trust Him. Because He is just so good. He is with you. So……….NO FEAR!!!

#isntshelovely

Leave a Reply

